0

Your Cart is Empty

[NEW] HOWARI - YEMEN


    At a glance

    • Taste: Intense, sweet, tangy
    • Flavours: blood orange, mate tea
    • Process: Natural
    • Varietal: Jaadi
    • Origin: Al-Qafr District, Yemen
    • Importer: Falcon Coffee, UK

    Harvest: 03.21

    Description

    Ready to discover new flavour profiles from a long-forgotten coffee country?
    Yemen is the first country where coffee was cultivated and from here coffee spread to the world via the port of Al-Makha. Nevertheless, coffee from Yemen has played only a small role in Specialty Coffee so far.

    But committed farmers and exporters from Yemen have set themselves the task of changing this and showing what Yemeni coffee has to offer.

    The coffees we have tasted from Yemen so far are convincing with their intense sweet and strong flavours, which come out particularly well through the traditional preparation as natural. After harvesting, Howari is also dried by hand on roofs for about 6-12 days in the sun.
    In terms of taste, the coffee reminds us of blood orange or grapefruit paired with mate tea and a hint of mint.

    Definitely an exceptional flavour profile and a coffee worth trying!

    Origin

    Howari village is located in Al-Qafr district, one of the counties of Ibb administrative district in central Yemen. The Hawar area is characterised by a rather humid, rainy climate and an altitude between 1600 and 1950 m above sea level. Around 1000 farmers cultivate coffee in this region in the traditional way.

    Here, the exporter Mocha Mill works together with selected farmers.

    Mocha Mill is one of the first exporters of speciality coffee in Yemen. An important part of its strategy is the empowerment of farmers, especially women, who make up about 75% of the farmers in Yemen. To this end, Mocha Mill supports the farmers in improving their cultivation and processing techniques in order to significantly improve the quality of the coffee. In this way, the living conditions of all Yemenis involved in coffee should be improved in the long term.

    Incl. VAT plus shipping. Free international shipping available. Delivery time: depending on your location.

    English

Back in stock: Comandate Coffee Grinder / versandkostenfreie Lieferung in DE ab 35 €

0

Ihr Warenkorb ist leer

[LAST CHANCE] HOWARI - JEMEN


    Auf einen Blick

    • Geschmack: Intensiv, süß, spritzig
    • Aromen: Blutorange, Matetee
    • Prozess: Natural
    • Varietät: Jaadi
    • Herkunft: Al-Qafr District, Jemen
    • Importeur: Falcon Coffee, UK

    Ernte: 03.21

    Beschreibung

    Bereit neue Geschmacksprofile aus einem lange vergessenen Kaffeeland zu entdecken?
    Jemen ist das erste Land, in dem Kaffee kultiviert wurde und von hier hat sich Kaffee über den Hafen von Al-Makha in die Welt verbreitet. Dennoch spielt Kaffee aus dem Jemen im Specialty Coffee bisher nur eine kleine Rolle.

    Doch engagierte Farmer*innen und Exporteure aus dem Jemen haben es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht dies zu ändern und zu zeigen, was jemenitischer Kaffee zu bieten hat.

    Die Kaffees, die wir bisher aus dem Jemen probiert haben, überzeugen durch ihre intensiven süßen und kräftigen Aromen, die durch die traditionelle Aufbereitung als Natural besonders gut zur Geltung kommen. So wird auch der Howari nach der Ernte per Hand auf Dächern für ca. 6-12 Tage in der Sonne getrocknet.
    Geschmacklich erinnert der Kaffee uns an Blutorange oder Grapefruit gepaart mit Mate Tee und einem Hauch von Minze.

    Definitiv ein außergewöhnliches Geschmacksprofil und ein Kaffee, der es lohnt probiert zu werden!

    Herkunft

    Das Dorf Howari liegt im Bezirk Al-Qafr, einem der Kreise des Regierungsbezirks Ibb im Zentraljemen. Das Hawar-Gebiet zeichnet sich durch ein eher feuchtes, regnerisches Klima und eine Höhenlage zwischen 1600 und 1950 m über dem Meeresspiegel aus. Um die 1000 Farmer*innen bauen in dieser Region auf traditionelle Weise Kaffee an.

    Hier arbeitet der Exporteur Mocha Mill mit ausgewählten Farmer*innen zusammen.

    Mocha Mill ist einer der ersten Exporteure von Spezialitätenkaffee in Jemen. Ein wichtiger Teil ihrer Strategie ist die Stärkung der Farmer*innen und insbesondere der Frauen, die etwa 75 % der Farmer*innen im Jemen ausmachen. Dazu unterstützt Mocha Mill die Farmer*innen bei der Verbesserung ihrer Anbau- und Aufbereitungstechniken, um die Kaffeequalität merklich zu verbessern. So sollen langfristig die Lebensbedingungen aller an der Kaffee beteiligten Jemenit*innen verbessert werden.

    Inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versand (Standardversand 4,90€, kostenlos ab 35€ innerhalb DE) Lieferzeit innerhalb DE: 3-5 Tage

    German
    German